look of wonder

I still remember that look on your face when I gave you that book. When I gave you that book, you fell silent and wouldn’t take your eyes off of it, you held it like it was a baby, you had that sparkle in your eye, you had that look of wonder. I loved that look, so much, that I gave you another one. And there was that look again, that look of wonder, that sparkle in your eye, you held it again like it was a fragile baby, you fell silent and couldn’t take your eyes off of it. I really loved that look, so I gave you another book. But this time, I did not saw that look in your face. When I gave you a third book, you tried to return it to me, you told me to stop giving you books. That destroyed me, that made me sad. I really loved giving you books, I really loved seeing your look of wonder. Now, i’m afraid I will never see that look again. I loved that look so much, because I loved you. I loved seeing you happy, joyful. I loved watching you read, I loved listening when you talked about books. Now, I don’t love you like I did yesterday. 

Leave a Reply

